I Met a Former PHP Developer Who Wouldn’t Recommend PHP

Here are the reasons why.

Josef Cruz
2 min readMay 5, 2022
Photo by Amy Hirschi on Unsplash

I worked with a PHP programmer who earns a lot more than me. I’m a little jealous of his salary as I know the frontend is harder than the backend. Given the situation, I asked my former colleague how he would convince me to switch to the backend from the frontend. He said he wouldn’t recommend it for several reasons:

  1. PHP language is generally not recommended because the developers who do not use it or no longer have had a bad experience with the first versions of this technology. It was easy to design and set up a small site quickly with PHP, but it was a horror to maintain, evolve, and secure.
  2. It’s an old language that everyone uses on the web. But, unfortunately, it is neither very fast nor exquisite. So it’s less “hype” these days.
  3. PHP loses its main argument because the “client-side” is done entirely in JavaScript. And PHP is not the best language to do pure “server-side”.
  4. Originally, PHP was a DIY, designed by someone who wanted to do some quick stuff. For this reason, PHP is one of the languages ​​with a reasonably simple syntax and features that make it accessible to beginners.
  5. PHP had big backward compatibility issues between different versions sometime in 2005/2015. This…

--

--

Josef Cruz

Entrepreneur, coder, husband, father. I spend my days on the web learning and sharing information across the globe.