7 Strategies To Take Control of Your Emotions in Tough Times

Do these so you can start thinking more clearly and start performing at your best

Josef Cruz
5 min readNov 18, 2020
Photo by Usman Yousaf on Unsplash

When you encounter an unexpected challenge or obstacle, do you get frustrated?

If so, then I understand how you’re feeling. After all, at my lowest point, when I was flat broke with just $17 in the bank, over $100,000 in debt, and nearly fired from my 3rd job in a row, I had every reason to feel bad. My emotions hijacked my ability to think clearly and perform at my best when I needed to most.

Being emotionally hijacked is becoming more and more common in today’s society. Little wonder, the World Health Organisation reports that 350 Million People globally are now affected by some form of depression.

However, what I learned during my toughest points is that until I take back control of my emotions until change the way I feel, I’ll never be able to respond to adversity positively.

Taking on adversity can often demand the absolute best from you, which is nearly impossible when you’re going through an emotional hijacking, your emotions are out of control and you feel distraught, demotivated, and defeated.

So here are 7 strategies to take back control of your emotions during tough…

--

--

Josef Cruz

Entrepreneur, coder, husband, father. I spend my days on the web learning and sharing information across the globe.